Sunday, January 17, 2010

ALA 2010 Youth Media Awards!

This morning was a big morning for fans of children's & young adult literature, as the American Library Association announced this year's winners of its Youth Media Awards, including the Newbery, Caldecott, and Printz. Read on for all the details!

John Newbery Medals for the most distinguished contribution to children's literature

When You Reach Me, by Rebecca Stead

Newbery Honor Books:

Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished picture book for children

The Lion and the Mouse, by Jerry Pinkney

Caldecott Honor Books:

Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature

Going Bovine, by Libba Bray

Printz Honor Books:

In other award news, Deb Heiligman's Charles and Emma also won the first YALSA Nonfiction Award--congrats, Deb! Mo Willems won the Theodore Seuss Geisel Award for Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! (given for the most distinguished book for beginning readers). Walter Dean Myers received the first ever Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement; children's nonfiction author Jim Murphy won the Margaret A. Edwards award for Lifetime Achievement.

There's a great list of books that won the Alex Award as well, which recognizes adult books with appeal to young adults and includes Farley's staff favorite Stitches, by David Small. For a complete list of winners and awards, visit ALA Youth Media Awards.

So, what do you think of this year's winners? When You Reach Me has been a staff favorite at Farley's all year, so we're thrilled--but not surprised!--that it won the Newbery, and we're so excited for the formerly local Deborah Heiligman's successes. Congrats to all the winners!

No comments: